Espacios Seguros
by Ivàn Argote, Italy 2020, 19'
SUBJECT, SHOOTING, EDITING AND TEXT: Iván Argote   VOICE OVER: Diana Rodriguez Franco, Secretaria de la Mujer, Bogotà
SOUND: Iván Argote   PRODUCER: In Between Art Film
EXECUTIVE PRODUCER: Leonardo Bigazzi   LANGUAGE: vo: Spanish; sub: Italian

Schermo dell'Arte - Archivio Film  Presented at Lo schermo dell’arte 2020 
As part of the project 
Mascarilla 19 – Codes of Domestic Violence
First project by the Fondazione In Between Art Film, that includes 8 artists’ shorts on the subject of domestic violence, how it has increased due to the pandemic and the resulting social containment measures.

In Espacios Seguros the artist films the inscriptions that have been posted around his neighborhood in Paris by Collages Feminicides a collective of women artists that highlight the pervasiveness of gender violence and femicide in France. The camera zooms in on these collages, while in the background the life of the city proceeds at its usual pace, culpably indifferent to the tragedy they reveal. Over the collages, we hear the voice of Diana Rodriguez Franco, Secretaria de la Mujer de Bogotá, city’s department of women’s affairs, charged with implementing public policies for preventing domestic violence and supporting victims. She explains how the program Espacios seguros was developed in response to the growing number of cases of domestic violence during the COVID-19 pandemic. Although the text, images, and sound are in different languages, they form a shared grammar that emphasizes the gravity of the situation and the need to act immediately.

Iván Argote (Colombia 1983, lives and works in Paris). His work includes video, photography, sculpture, drawing and installation. Recent solo exhibitions: ASU Arizona State University Art Museum (2019), Salton Sea - Coachella Valley (CA, 2019), MALBA Museo de Arte Latinoamericano in Buenos Aires (2018), Galerie Perrotin Paris (2018).

Filmografia Selezionata:
As far As We Could Get, 2019; La Plaza del Chafleo, 2019; Venganza Del Amor, 2017; Reddishblue Memories, 2017

[close details]