Lo schermo dell’arte is an international project dedicated to explore and promote the relations between cinema and contemporary art through a festival, research and training projects, exhibitions, residencies program for artists, production, distribution and educational programs.
It was born in Florence in 2008 and during the past years it has collaborate with numerous contemporary art centers, institutions, museums, academies and unversities in Italy and abroad.
In its fourteen years of activity, it has involved over 300 artists, directors, producers, curators and more than 50 institutions from all over the world, confirming its international role in the scouting of new talents and in deepening new expressive languages.

The project is dived into:

LO SCHERMO DELL’ARTE CINEMA AND CONTEMPORARY ART FESTIVAL an international event that presents a selection of the best recent production of artist films and documentaries on contemporary art, meetings with artists, authors and curators.

VISIO European Programme on Artists’ Moving Images a research and residency project dedicated to artists under 35 who use moving images in their artistic practice. Participants are selected with an open call and in collaboration with some of the most important European art academies, art schools and residencies for artists. It includes seminars, round tables, meetings and the VISIO Young Talent Acquisition Prize.

EXHIBITIONS by participants in the VISIO program which since 2015 have been held in city institutions: Palazzo Strozzi, Cinema La Compagnia, Palazzo Medici Riccardi, Le Murate. Progetti Arte Contemporanea, Manifattura Tabacchi.

PROJECTS screening programs organized with Italian and foreign institutions, publications, training projects.

ARCHIVE available on the website, consisting of over 1000 titles including artist films and documentaries.

Among the numerous artists who took part in the Festival:
Doug Aitken, Francis Alÿs, Yuri Ancarani, Ivàn Argote, Gabriele Basilico, Riccardo Benassi, Pierre Bismuth, Libia Castro, Phil Collins, Jeremy Deller, Rä di Martino, Roberto Fassone, Omer Fast, Beatrice Favaretto, Anna Franceschini, Dani Gal, Yervant Gianikian e Angela Ricci Lucchi, Riccardo Giacconi, Peter Greenaway, Assaf Gruber, Joana Hadjithomas e Khalil Joreige, Marine Hugonnier, Runa Islam, Alfredo Jaar, Isaac Julien, Hassan Khan, Oliver Laric, Mark Lewis, M+M, Jumana Manna, Diego Marcon, Masbedo, Elena Mazzi, Sarah Morris, Deimantas Narkevicius, Rosalind Nashashibi, Shirin Neshat, Melik Ohanian, Adrian Paci, Philippe Parreno, Martial Raysse, Julian Rosefeldt, Roee Rosen, Anjalika Sagar/The Otolith Group, Caterina Erica Shata, Simon Starling, Hito Steyerl, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Robert Trafford/Forensic Architecture, Luca Trevisani, Luca Vitone, Phillip Warnell, Jane e Louise Wilson, Zapruder.

Massimo Carotti
Luca Dini
Silvia Lucchesi

Massimo Carotti

Silvia Lucchesi

Leonardo Bigazzi

Silvana Fiorese

Assistant to the artistic direction
Valeria Mancinelli

Alessandra Fredianelli

Coordinator VISIO
European Programme on Artists’ Moving Images

Carolina Gestri

Promotion and relations with schools
Anna Ricciardi

Emma Paoli

Social Media Manager
Lorenzo Migno

Press Office
Ester di Leo